Tufts University | School of Arts and Sciences | School of Engineering | Graduate School of Arts and Sciences | Find People |


Elections 2017-2018

Tenure and Promotion Committee
Tenure and Promotion Committee webpage

Open Positions and Nominees:

Two full-term (3-year term) positions in Arts, Sciences and Engineering
Term: May 1, 2018 - April 30, 2021
(To replace Christos Georgakis, Chemical Engineering and Lynne Pepall, Economics)

  • Nominee information
    • Julian Agyeman, Professor in UEP
      • Past service Experience:
        • GSAS Executive, GSAS Policy and Programs, Summer Programs Committee, GDAE Advisory Committee, Institute for Global Leadership Advisory Committee, and currently on the Community Music Advisory Committee
        • Chair of the Department of Urban and Environmental Policy and Planning (2007-2013)
        • Member, National Academies Board on Radioactive Waste Management, Committee on Transportation of Radioactive Waste (2003-2005)
    • Yannis M. Ioannides, Max and Herta Neubauer Professor in Economics
      • Past service Experience:
        • Member and Chair, Budget and University Priorities Committee (1996-2001)
        • Member and Chair, Tenure and Promotion Committee (2006-2010, 2014-2015)
        • Member and Chair, Committee on Committees (2012-2015)
        • Co-Director, MA Program in Economics, (2000-2005)
    • Christine McWayne, Associate Professor in Child Study and Human Development
      • Past service experience:
        • Program Director, Early Childhood Education (Spring 2010-present)
        • Member, Tufts Diversity and Inclusion Development and Administration Master's Working Group, GSAS, (Fall 2015-present)
        • Member, Provost-appointed to the Committee on Modes of Research (Fall 2012-Spring 2013)
        • Associate Editor, Educational Researcher (January 2013-present)
        • Associate Editor, Journal of Applied Developmental Psychology (June 2012-present)
    • Kim Ruane, Professor in Mathematics
      • Past service Experience
        • Chair of the Summer School (2012-present)
        • One year term on the Executive Committee (2015-16)
        • Director of Graduate Studies for Mathematics (2010-present)
        • University Awards Committee (2007-2010)
        • Foreign Programs Committee (2001-2006)


One one-year replacement position (2017-2018 only) in Arts, Sciences, & Engineering
Term: 2017-2018 (only)
(To replace Judith Haber, English)

  • Nominee information for one-year replacement:
    • Hosea Hirata, Professor in International Literary and Cultural Studies
      • Past service experience:
        • Committee on Curricula (2015–present)
        • Committee on Academic Standing and Honors (2014–present)
        • Executive Board, Tufts Center for the Humanities (2007–2016)
        • Academic Review Board (2002–2006)
        • Chair, Department of German, Russian, Asian Languages and Literature (2006–2013)