Jeffrey M. Berry

American Politics, Political Behavior
John Richard Skuse Professor
Ph.D., Johns Hopkins University, 1974


Jeffrey Berry's research has focused on policymaking in Washington, interest groups, Massachusetts politics, nonprofits, and urban government. He is the author of many books, including The Rebirth of Urban Democracy, which won the American Political Science Association's Gladys Kammerer Award, and Lobbying and Policy Change and A Voice for Nonprofits, each of which received the Leon Epstein Best Book Award. His book, The New Liberalism, was awarded the Aaron Wildavsky best book award by the Policy Studies Association. Other books include The Oxford Handbook of American Political Parties and Interest Groups, The Interest Group Society, and The Challenge of Democracy. Berry is the recipient of the Samuel Eldersveld Career Achievement Award and the Tufts Distinguished Scholar Award.

Berry's current research falls into two areas. With Sarah Sobieraj (Tufts Sociology) he has completed a book on The Outrage Industry, a study of cable news, talk radio, and the political blogosphere (Oxford University Press). Articles from this project are listed below.

With Kent Portney, he has conducted extensive research on sustainable cities. Drawing on surveys of administrators, city councilors, and interest group leaders in 50 American cities, he and Portney are trying to determine what leads cities to pursue sustainability. Some of their papers are listed below.


PS 15: "Sophomore Seminar: Politics in the City"
PS 101: "Presidency and the Executive Branch"
PS 102: "Congress, Bureaucracy, and Public Policy"
PS 104: "New Media, New Politics"
PS 113: "Nonprofits and Civil Society"

Publications & Working Papers

The Outrage Industry:

Urban Politics and Sustainability:

Interest Groups and Lobbying:

Strengthening America's Nonprofits:

Elite Interviewing:

The New Liberalism:

Surveys and Research Documents:

  Arts & Sciences  |  Tufts University  |  Admissions  |  Directory  |  Campus Map & Directions

Copyright Department of Political Science, Tufts University.
Site designed and maintained by Tufts Technology Services (TTS). All rights reserved.