Tufts University | School of Arts and Sciences | School of Engineering | Graduate School of Arts and Sciences | Find People |

Chapter 1
Organization and Governance

Return to Office of the Secretary of the Faculty

Board of Trustees

Article III of the Bylaws of the Trustees of Tufts College (amended by the board November 6, 2004) states:

The Officers of the Corporation shall be the Chair of the Board of Trustees, up to three Vice Chairs, the President of the University, the Treasurer and the Secretary, all of whom shall be elected at the annual meeting of the Trustees and shall hold office for one year or until their successors shall be duly elected and qualified, the Provost, the Executive Vice President, the Vice President for University Advancement, the Vice President for University Relations, and other officers, including without limitation those having titles that include the words 'President,' 'Vice President,' 'Treasurer,' or 'Secretary,' as the Board may from time to time elect or appoint, who shall serve at the will of the Board of Trustees.

Other trustee groups include the Executive Committee and standing committees: the Administration and Finance Committee and its subcommittees, the Investment Subcommittee and the Buildings and Grounds Subcommittee; the Committee for University Advancement; the Academic Affairs Committee; the Committee on Trusteeship; the Honorary Degree Committee; the Compensation Committee; and the Audit Committee.

In addition, there are ten boards of advisors who counsel the trustees and the administration on the School of Medicine and the Sackler School of Graduate Biomedical Science, the School of Dental Medicine, the Cummings School of Veterinary Medicine, the Fletcher School of Law and Diplomacy, the Gerald J. and Dorothy R. Friedman School of Nutrition Science and Policy, the Jonathan M. Tisch College of Civic Life, the School of Engineering, the School of Arts and Sciences, the Department of Athletics, and the International Board of Advisors.