Tufts University | School of Arts and Sciences | School of Engineering | Graduate School of Arts and Sciences | Find People |


Academic Review Board

Standing Bylaw Committee of the
College of Liberal Arts and Jackson College

This committee subsumed the following curricula subcommittees: College Writing, Distribution, Foreign Language and Culture, and World Civilization.

MEMBERSHIP: 2017-2018

Term: Three (3) years

Name and Link to
Directory Listing
Department Title Term Role Note
Ellmore, George Biology Associate Professor 2014-2018 Chair
Subcommittee chair/ Distribution
Baffoni-Licata, Laura Romance Studies Senior Lecturer 2010-2018 Leave Spring 2018
Brown, Drusilla Economics Associate Professor 2017-2020    
Hu, Xiaozhe Mathematics Assistant Professor 2014-2018    
Maranci, Christina Art and Art History Professor 2015-2018    
Proctor, David History Senior Lecturer 2016-2021 Subcommittee chair/ World Civilization worldciv@tufts.edu
Walser, Joseph Religion Associate Professor 2009-2018 Subcommittee chair/ Culture Option  
Lowe, Carmen Undergraduate Studies Dean of Academic Advising and Undergraduate Studies   Ex officio, non-voting  
Barber, Kendra Undergraduate Education Associate Dean   Ex officio, nonvoting  


The function of the Academic Review Board (ARB) is to monitor the ongoing fulfillment of the degree requirements, as well as to respond to new petitions related to the fulfillment of the college writing distribution, foreign language and culture option, and world civilizations requirements.

The board consists of ten or more members and shall serve as a joint committee for the College of Liberal Arts and Jackson College (LA&J). Members include seven faculty members, at least one from each of the five distribution areas. Members ex officio, without vote, include the dean of academic advising and undergraduate studies and one associate dean of undergraduate education. Full-time faculty members in Arts and Sciences are eligible to serve on this board. Members are appointed to a three-year term.

The workload on this board includes attending one or two hour-long meetings every semester to discuss policy. There are also frequent email exchanges regarding individual student petitions for academic credit. The academic deans and the Student Services Desk provide up-to-date information regarding to whom various petitions should be submitted. This committee is open to all full-time voting-eligible faculty members, including professors of the practice, lecturers, and senior lecturers.


Information will be posted as it becomes available.



Visit the Liberal Arts and Jackson College Bylaws for more information regarding this committee's bylaws.