Tufts University | School of Arts and Sciences | School of Engineering | Graduate School of Arts and Sciences | Find People |


Educational Objectives and Outcomes Assessment Committee

Standing Bylaw Committee of the
Faculty of Engineering

MEMBERSHIP: 2015-2016

Term: One (1) year

Name and Link to
Directory Listing
Department Title Term Role Note
Chudyk, Wayne Civil and Environmental Engineering Associate Professor 2015-2016 Chair  
Baise, Laurie Civil and Environmental Engineering Associate Professor 2014-2016    
Chang, Hwa Electrical and Computer Engineering Associate Professor 2013-2016   LV Spring 2016
Fantini, Sergio Biomedical Engineering Professor 2013-2016    
Guyer, Samuel Computer Science Associate Professor 2013-2016    
Khan, Usman Electrical and Computer Engineering Assistant Professor 2015-2016    
Liggero, Samuel Gordon Institute Professor of the Practice 2013-2016    
Ramsburg, Andrew Civil and Environmental Engineering Associate Professor 2014-2016    
Saigal, Anil Mechanical Engineering Professor 2015-2016    
Yi, Hyunmin Chemical Engineering Associate Professor 2015-2016    
Rife, Jason School of Engineering Associate Dean   Ex officio, nonvoting  
Butler, Christina Institutional Research Researcher/Analyst   Ex officio, nonvoting  
Geronimo Terkla, Dawn Institutional Research Associate Provost   Ex officio, nonvoting  


The function of the School of Engineering Educational Objectives and Outcomes Assessment Committee (OAC) is to coordinate School of Engineering (SoE) processes for continuous improvement of its programs. The committee shall: (1) develop and implement methods for assessing and evaluating the educational experience of our students, including the extent to which engineering graduates achieve programmatic and school-wide education outcomes and objectives; (2) periodically review the content of all engineering courses and assess for each course the amount of coverage of engineering topics; and (3) work with Office of Institutional Research & Evaluation (OIR&E) in developing instruments such as the student, alumni, and employer surveys.

Members of the OAC include program director faculty members representing each of the eight ABET-accredited programs in SoE (BSBME, BSCHE, BSCE, BSCPE, BSCS, BSEE, BSEVE, and BSME) plus representatives from the Gordon Institute, SoE Dean's Office, and OIR&E. Program Director faculty members typically have tenure, although tenure is not required. A close familiarity with Tufts programs is expected. Program Director faculty members are appointed by his/her respective department.

The committee meets on a monthly basis for approximately 90 minutes to coordinate continuous improvement and related self-study processes for SOE ABET-accredited programs; and evaluates results from and update student, alumni, and alumni employer surveys for SoE. Program Director faculty members are also responsible for preparation for ABET accreditation visits. This committee is not appropriate for tenure-track faculty members.


Information will be posted as it becomes available.


Visit the School of Engineering Bylaws for more information regarding this committee's bylaws.