Tufts University | School of Arts and Sciences | School of Engineering | Graduate School of Arts and Sciences | Find People |


Committee on Academic Standing

Standing Bylaw Committee of the
Faculty of Engineering

MEMBERSHIP: 2016-2017

Term: Five (5) years

Name and Link to
Directory Listing
Department Title Term Role Note
Chang, Remco Computer Science Assistant Professor 2015-2020 Chair LV AY 16-17
Viesca, Rob Civil and Environmental Engineering Assistant Professor 2015-2020 Chair Chair for AY 16-17
Afsar, Mohammed Electrical and Computer Engineering Professor 2015-2020    
Asatekin, Ayse Chemical Engineering Assistant Professor 2015-2020   LV AY 16-17
Black, Lauren Biomedical Engineering Associate Professor 2011-2016   Term ends Fall 2016
Dogar, Fahad Computer Science Assistant Professor 2016-2017    
Guasto, Jeff Mechanical Engineering Assistant Professor 2014-2019    
Jacob, Rob Computer Science Professor 2016-2017    
Jiang, Xiaocheng Biomedical Engineering Assistant Professor 2016-2021   Terms stars Fall 2016
Rogers, Chris Mechanical Engineering Professor 2016-2017    
Finch, Kristin School of Engineering Associate Director of STEM   Ex officio, nonvoting  
Perez, Marisel Student Services Associate Dean of Students   Ex officio, nonvoting  
Reilly, Patricia Student Services Director of Financial Aid and Manager of Student Services   Ex officio, nonvoting  
Stephan, Jennifer School of Engineering Associate Dean   Ex officio, nonvoting  


The function of the Academic Standing Committee of the School of Engineering is to review student progress toward fulfillment of degree requirements. When necessary, the committee may issue warnings to students, place students on academic probation, or require students to withdraw and communicate with parents or guardians.

The committee consists of one member from each department within the School of Engineering, the dean of the student affairs, and the dean of the School of Engineering or his/her designee. Full-time voting-eligible faculty members are able to serve on this committee. Members are appointed by the dean's office to a five-year term.

The committee meets approximately twice per academic year, and each meetings lasts approximately 60 minutes. This committee is appropriate for tenure-track faculty members.


Information will be posted as it becomes available.


Visit the School of Engineering Bylaws for more information regarding this committee's bylaws.