Tufts University | School of Arts and Sciences | School of Engineering | Graduate School of Arts and Sciences | Find People |


Elections 2018-2019

Budget and Priorities Committee
Budget and Priorities Committee Page

Open Positions and Nominees:

Two full-term (5-year term) positions in arts and humanities (only)
Term: 2018-2023
(To replace Charles Inouye, International Literary and Cultural Studies, and Pedro Palou, Romance Studies)

  • Nominee information for full-term positions:
    • Gregory Crane, Professor in Classics
      • Past service experience:
        • Information Technology Council (1997-04)
        • Budget and Priorities Committee (2004-07)
        • Alexander von Humboldt Professor of Digital Humanities at Leipzig (2013-17)
    • Ikumi Kaminishi, Associate Professor in Art and Art History
      • Past service experience:
        • TBA
    • Alisha Rankin, Associate Professor in History
      • Past service experience:
        • Interim Chair of History (2017-18)
        • Co-Graduate Director (2017)
        • STS program board (2016-present)
        • WGSS program board (2011-15)
        • Graduate Awards Committee (2012, 2015)
        • History Department Undergraduate Education Committee chair (2008-09, 2011-15)
    • Mingquan Wang, Senior Lecturer in Chinese
      • Past service experience:
        • AS&E Committee on Opportunities Abroad (2017-present)
        • AS&E Summer Session Committee (2011-16)
        • Language Coordinator, Chinese Program (1997-present)
        • Board Director, New England Chinese Language Teachers Association (NECLTA) (2012-present)
        • NECLTA, Executive Director (2012-14, 2016-present); President, (2014-16); Vice President (2012-14)


One one-year replacement position (2018-2019) in natural sciences (only)
Term: 2018-2019 (only)
(To replace Hugo Beauchemin, Physics and Astronomy)

  • Nominee information for one-year replacement:
    • Tim Atherton, Associate Professor in Physics and Astronomy
      • Past service experience:
        • Acting chair of University Awards Committee (2018)
        • Engineering Curriculum Committee (2016-present)
        • Physics & Astronomy Graduate Committee (GRASP) (2018-present)
        • Chair of Physics & Astronomy Website Committee (2015-17)
        • Conference Organizer, New England Complex Fluids Group (2012, 2017) and Foundations of Nonlinear Optics (FONLO) (2016)
        • Served on the American Physical Society ad hoc committee on LGBT issues in Physics (2014-16)
    • Al Robbat, Associate Professor in Chemistry
      • Past service experience:
        • Chair and member of FRSFAC (2014-present)
        • Chair and member of faculty Athletics Committee
        • Co-sponsor with Tufts Technology Services, Selection and Implementation of Research Data Management Software and Services
        • Advisory Committee U.S. Environmental Protection Agency
        • Massachusetts Department of Environmental Protection Agency
        • Director of Sensory and Science Center


One one-year replacement position (2018-2019) in engineering (only)
Term: 2018-2019 (only)
(To replace Irene Georgakoudi, Biomedical Engineering)

  • Nominee information for one-year replacement:
    • Eric Miller, Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering
      • Past service experience:
        • Member, Advisory Committee, Tufts Data Intensive Study Center (2017-present)
        • Chair, Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering (2012-present)
        • Associate Dean of Research, School of Engineering (2009-12)
        • Member, Tufts University Research and Scholarship Subcommittee, IT Governance (2015-present)
        • Chair, SIAM Activity Group on Imaging Science (SIAG/IS), 2016-17
    • Emmanuel Tzanakakis, Associate Professor in Chemical and Biological Engineering
      • Past service experience:
        • Co-Chair, Committee on Research, Strategic Plan Development, School of Engineering (2017-present)
        • Member, Study Abroad Committee, School of Engineering (2017-present)
        • Advisor, Tufts Biotechnology Certificate Program (2017-present)
        • Advisor, Biotechnology Minor/Second Major (2017-present)
        • Member, Faculty Search Committees, Undergraduate Curriculum Development Committee in Chemical and Biological Engineering (2015-present)


One full-term position (2018-2023) from the SMFA (only)
Term: 2018-2023

  • Nominee information for one-year replacement:
    • Ethan Murrow, Professor of the Practice at the SMFA
      • Past service experience:
        • Search committee chair for two POPs in performance
        •  Search committee member for POPs in drawing, and painting
        • Dean's task force to evaluate faculty workload at SMFA
        • SMFA Library Committee
        • Tufts Art Acquisition Committee
    • Chantal Zakari, Professor of the Practice at the SMFA
      • Past service experience:
        • SMFA Faculty Governance Committee (present)
        • SMFA Faculty Senate
        • SMFA Curriculum Committee
        • SMFA Faculty Affairs Committee
        • Area Representative for the Graphic Arts Area