Tufts University | School of Arts and Sciences | School of Engineering | Graduate School of Arts and Sciences | Find People |


Undergraduate Admissions and Financial Aid Committee

Standing Bylaw Committee of the
Faculty of Arts, Sciences and Engineering

MEMBERSHIP: 2014-2015

Term: Five (5) years

Name and Link to
Directory Listing
Department Title Term Role Note
Garman, David Economics Associate Professor 2010-2015 Chair  
Ajose, Fatima TCU Senate Undergraduate student representative 2014-2015    
Börgers, Christoph Mathematics Professor 2010-2015   LV Spring 2015
Ioannides, Yannis Economics Professor 2014-2019    
Kassam, Serena TCU Senate Undergraduate student representative 2014-2015    
Rice, Anne-Christine Romance Languages Lecturer 2013-2019    
Saigal, Anil Mechanical Engineering Professor 2014-2019    
Vogel, Richard Civil and Environmental Engineering Professor 2011-2016    
Vu, Mai Electrical and Computer Engineering Associate Professor 2014-2015    
Williamson, Clara TCU Senate Undergraduate student representative 2014-2015    
Barker, John Division of Undergraduate and Graduate Students Dean   Ex officio, voting  
Coffin, Lee Undergraduate Admissions and Enrollment Management Dean   Ex officio, voting  
Lowe, Carmen Undergraduate Studies Dean of Undergraduate Studies and Academic Advising   Ex officio, voting  
Reilly, Patricia Financial Aid Director   Ex officio, voting  
Terkla, Dawn Institutional Research Associate Provost   Ex officio, voting  



The Undergraduate Admissions and Financial Aid Committee (UAFAC) reviews university policy on all issues related to undergraduate admissions (including standards, recruitment, and enrollment management) and financial aid; and offers advice and counsel to the administrators responsible for carrying out those policies.

The committee consists of six full-time members of the faculty, at least one of whom shall be from the School of Engineering; not more than three undergraduate students; and the following administrators or their designees as ex officio members without voting privileges: the dean of undergraduate admissions and enrollment management, the director of financial aid, the associate provost for institutional research and evaluation, the dean of the Division of Undergraduate and Graduate students, and the dean of academic advising and undergraduate studies. Members must be full-time faculty members. Committee members are appointed to a five-year term.

UAFAC has three to four fall meetings and two to three spring meetings for ninety minutes each. The spring meetings are scheduled to avoid the February to March peak of the application reading cycle. Subcommittees are sometimes used to examine and report on specialized questions. This committee is appropriate for tenure-track faculty members, and the committee benefits from having a broad mix of academic experience and interests.


Information will be posted as it becomes available.


Visit Arts, Sciences and Engineering Bylaws for more information regarding this committee's bylaws.