Tufts University | School of Arts and Sciences | School of Engineering | Graduate School of Arts and Sciences | Find People |


Tenure and Promotion Committee

Elected, Standing Bylaw Committee of the
Faculty of Arts, Sciences and Engineering

MEMBERSHIP: 2015-2016

Term: Three (3) years

Name and Link to
Directory Listing
Department Title Term Role Note
Cronin-Golomb, Mark Biomedical Engineering Professor 2012-2016 Chair  
Easterbrooks, Ann Child Study and Human Development Professor 2014-2017    
Napier, Susan German, Russian and Asian Languages Professor 2015-2016    
Pepall, Lynne Economics Professor 2015-2018    
Quinto, Eric Todd Mathematics Professor 2014-2016    
Sliwa, Krzysztof Physics and Astronomy Professor 2015-2017    
Harris, David Provost's Office Provost   Ex officio nonvoting  

View election information >


The Tenure and Promotion Committee (T&P) provides a faculty assessment of candidates who come up for tenure and promotion, as well as candidates tenured at other institutions who are applying for a tenured position at Tufts. The T&P Committee also reviews and updates Statement #11—the procedures for the tenure and promotion process.

This committee consists of six full-time and tenured Arts, Sciences and Engineering faculty members. Membership must include at least one faculty member from the School of Engineering. Eligible members are elected to three-year staggered terms, which begin May 1 in the academic year following the election. The provost and senior vice president serves as a non-voting member.

Committee members have an intense workload in both the fall and the spring semesters. In addition, there may be occasion to work on off-cycle cases during the summer months. Committee members receive two course releases during the academic year (one per semester) in which they serve. This committee is not appropriate for junior faculty, as membership is limited to tenured faculty.


Information will be posted as it becomes available.

APPLICATION AND REVIEW PROCEDURES: 2016-2017 (updated May 2016)


Visit Arts, Sciences and Engineering Bylaws for more information regarding this committee's bylaws.