Tufts University | School of Arts and Sciences | School of Engineering | Graduate School of Arts and Sciences | Find People |


Library Committee

Standing Bylaw Committee of the
Faculty of Arts, Sciences and Engineering

MEMBERSHIP: 2015-2016

Term: Five (5) years

Name and Link to
Directory Listing
Department Title Term Role Note
Abramson, Daniel Art and Art History Associate Professor 2013-2016 Chair  
Bonoan, Rachael Graduate Student Council Graduate student representative 2015-2016    
Capretta, Bianca TCU Senate Undergraduate student representative 2015-2016    
Dhingra, Pawan Sociology Professor 2015-2016    
Ekbladh, David History Associate Professor 2014-2019 LV Fall 2015
Forber, Patrick Philosophy Associate Professor 2013-2018   LV AY 2015-2016
Garman, David Economics Associate Professor 2015-2020    
Gidney, Chip Child Study and Human Development Associate Professor 2015-2020    
Hodes, Marc Mechanical Engineering Associate Professor 2015-2020    
Lantagne, Daniele Civil and Environmental Engineering Assistant Professor 2015-2016    
Lasser, Ron Electrical and Computer Engineering Professor of the Practice 2015-2016    
Lewis, Sara Biology Professor 2015-2016    
Ma, Ning German, Russian and Asian Languages and Literatures Assistant Professor 2013-2018    
Mufti, Malik Political Science Professor 2011-2016   LV Spring 2016
Olfert, Christiana Philosophy Assistant Professor 2015-2016    
Panzer, Matthew Chemical Engineering Associate Professor 2013-2018   LV Fall 2015
Pearlman, Sophie TCU Senate Undergraduate student representative 2015-2016    
Weiss, Richard Mathematics Professor 2011-2016    
TBD Tisch Library Associate Director for Teaching and Research   Ex officio, nonvoting  
Wood, Laura Tisch Library Director   Ex officio, nonvoting  



The function of the Library Committee is to advise the director of Tisch Library on library policies, budget, collections, and services. It also assists in the dissemination of information about the library to constituent groups. Committee members become familiar with the operational activities of the library.

This committee consists of four or more faculty members, at least four of whom have professorial rank, with no more than one member from any one department; the chair of the Committee on Budget and University Priorities; two undergraduate students designated by the TCU Senate; one graduate student designated by the Graduate Student Council; and the following ex officio members with voting privileges: the director of Tisch Library and the associate director for teaching, research, and information resources, Tisch Library. All voting-eligible faculty members are able to serve on this committee. Members are appointed to a five-year term.

Committee members attend four meetings per academic year (September, November, February, April). Planning the meetings is the responsibility of the Library Director in consultation with the faculty committee chair. This committee is appropriate for tenure-track faculty members.


Please visit the Library Committee's wiki


Visit Arts, Sciences and Engineering Bylaws for more information regarding this committee's bylaws.