Tufts University | School of Arts and Sciences | School of Engineering | Graduate School of Arts and Sciences | Find People |


The Executive Committee

Elected, Standing Bylaw Committee of the
Faculty of Arts, Sciences and Engineering

MEMBERSHIP: 2017-2018

Term: Three (3) years

Name and Link to
Directory Listing
Department Title Term Role Note
Bernheim, Harry Biology Associate Professor 2017-2020 Co-chair  
Couch, Alva Computer Science Associate Professor 2014-2018 Co-chair  
Hitchner, Bruce Classics Professor 2017-2020    
Johnson, Vida International Literary and Cultural Studies Professor 2017-2020    
Proctor, David History Senior Lecturer 2017-2020    
Sullivan, Vickie Political Science Professor 2016-2019    
Glaser, James School of Arts and Sciences Dean   Ex officio, nonvoting  
Qu, Jianmin School of Engineering Dean   Ex officio, nonvoting  

View election information >


The function of the Executive Committee (ExCom) is to determine the agenda topics of the A&S&E faculty meetings, based on information from the administration, faculty committees and other sources. The ExCom directs business to, and serves as a sounding board for, faculty committees. The committee oversees faculty committee structure and operation, it serves as a liaison between faculty and administration, and its members serve as faculty representatives to key faculty and trustee committees. In its role as liaison between faculty and administration, the ExCom ensures that faculty members are aware of and involved in administration-initiated changes, and it provides feedback to the administration about faculty sentiments and concerns. A major function of the ExCom is to provide advice to faculty committees about motions they are considering bringing to the full faculty for consideration and/or vote. Individual committees, not the ExCom, decide whether, when, and in what form, a motion is to be introduced. The ExCom's function is purely advisory, and it is up to each faculty committee to decide whether to consult with the ExCom.

This committee consists of six full-time arts, sciences and engineering faculty members. Eligible members are elected to three-year staggered terms, which begin the day of Commencement in the year of the election. Membership must include at least two faculty members from the College of Liberal Arts and Jackson College and one faculty member from the School of Engineering. No more than one faculty member from a single department may serve at one time and members must have served the university for at least five years. No member who has served a full term may be re-elected for another term until three years have passed since he or she has left the committee. The dean of the School of Arts and Sciences and the dean of the School of Engineering serve as members ex officio without vote.

Committee members attend meetings Mondays 3:00 - 4:30 p.m. during the semester, approximately every other week. Faculty members approve meeting minutes via email and minutes are then posted online. The committee also meets monthly, in the same Monday time slot, with the president, provost and other senior administrators to set the agendas for A&S&E faculty meetings. The committee reports back to the faculty regularly, and at times, leads discussions at A&S&E faculty meetings. Members serve as representatives to key faculty committees (Committee on Committees, Budget and Priorities, and Educational Policy Committee) and trustee committees (approximately three meetings per year). Members attend two fall luncheons with faculty committee chairs. Committee members receive a $2500 research stipend each year of active service on the committee. This committee is open to all full-time voting-eligible faculty members, including professors of the practice, lecturers, and senior lecturers who have been at Tufts in a full-time capacity for at least five years. Given the requirement that members have served as full-time faculty members for at least five years, it is unlikely that tenure-track faculty would serve as members.


Meeting Summaries:
  • 2017-2018


Visit Arts, Sciences and Engineering Bylaws for more information regarding this committee's bylaws.



Meeting Summaries: