Tufts University | School of Arts and Sciences | School of Engineering | Graduate School of Arts and Sciences | Find People |


The Executive Committee

Elected, Standing Bylaw Committee of the
Faculty of Arts, Sciences and Engineering

MEMBERSHIP: 2014-2015

Term: Three (3) years

Name and Link to
Directory Listing
Department Title Term Role Note
Gonzalez, Fulton Mathematics Professor 2013-2016 Co-chair  
Romero, Christiane Zehl German, Russian & Asian Languages and Literatures Professor 2013-2016 Co-chair  
Bernheim, Harry Biology Associate Professor 2014-2016    
Couch, Alva Computer Science Associate Professor 2014-2017    
Ennis, James Sociology Associate Professor 2012-2015   LV AY 2014-2015
Haber, Judith English Professor 2013-2016    
Tobin, Roger Physics and Astronomy Professor 2014-2017    
Glaser, James School of Arts and Sciences Dean ad interim   Ex officio, nonvoting  
Abriola, Linda School of Engineering Dean   Ex officio, nonvoting  

View election information >


The function of the Executive Committee (ExCom) is to determine the agenda topics of the A&S&E faculty meetings, based on information from the administration, faculty committees and other sources. The ExCom directs business to, and serves as a sounding board for, faculty committees. The committee oversees faculty committee structure and operation, it serves as a liaison between faculty and administration, and its members serve as faculty representatives to key faculty and trustee committees. In its role as liaison between faculty and administration, the ExCom ensures that faculty members are aware of and involved in administration-initiated changes, and it provides feedback to the administration about faculty sentiments and concerns. A major function of the ExCom is to provide advice to faculty committees about motions they are considering bringing to the full faculty for consideration and/or vote. Individual committees, not the ExCom, decide whether, when, and in what form, a motion is to be introduced. The ExCom's function is purely advisory, and it is up to each faculty committee to decide whether to consult with the ExCom.

This committee consists of six full-time arts, sciences and engineering faculty members. Eligible members are elected to three-year staggered terms, which begin the day of Commencement in the year of the election. Membership must include at least two faculty members from the College of Liberal Arts and Jackson College and one faculty member from the School of Engineering. No more than one faculty member from a single department may serve at one time and members must have served the university for at least five years. No member who has served a full term may be re-elected for another term until three years have passed since he or she has left the committee. The dean of the School of Arts and Sciences and the dean of the School of Engineering serve as members ex officio without vote.

Committee members attend meetings Mondays 3:00 - 4:30 p.m. during the semester, approximately every other week. Faculty members approve meeting minutes via email and minutes are then posted online. The committee also meets monthly, in the same Monday time slot, with the president, provost and other senior administrators to set the agendas for A&S&E faculty meetings. The committee reports back to the faculty regularly, and at times, leads discussions at A&S&E faculty meetings. Members serve as representatives to key faculty committees (Committee on Committees, Budget and Priorities, and Educational Policy Committee) and trustee committees (approximately three meetings per year). Members attend two fall luncheons with faculty committee chairs. Committee members receive a $2500 research stipend each year of active service on the committee. Given the requirement that members have served as faculty members for at least five years, it is unlikely that tenure-track faculty would serve as members.


Meeting Summaries:


Visit Arts, Sciences and Engineering Bylaws for more information regarding this committee's bylaws.