Tufts University | School of Arts and Sciences | School of Engineering | Graduate School of Arts and Sciences | Find People |


Subcommittee on European Center at Talloires (Subcommittee of the Summer Session Committee)

Standing Bylaw Committee of the
Faculty of Arts, Sciences and Engineering

MEMBERSHIP: 2015-2016

Term: Five (5) years

Name and Link to
Directory Listing
Department Title Term Role Note
Camara, Kathleen Child Study and Human Development Associate Professor 2010-2020 Convener  
Baghdiantz-McCabe, Ina History Professor 2015-2020    
Bailey, Stephen Anthropology Associate Professor 2011-2016    
Beauchemin, Pierre-Hugues Physics and Astronomy Assistant Professor 2014-2019    
Curtis, Heather Religion Associate Professor 2015-2020    
Joyner Koomson, Valencia Electrical and Computer Engineering Associate Professor 2015-2020    
Melius, Jeremy Art and Art History Assistant Professor 2014-2019   LV AY 2015-2016
Pearce, Tracy Romance Languages Lecturer 2011-2016    
Shin, Lisa Psychology Professor 2015-2016    
Barker, John Undergraduate and Graduate Students Dean Ex officio, nonvoting    
Bayne, Sheila Programs Abroad Associate Dean Ex officio, nonvoting    
Brown, Drusilla International Relations Program Director, or designee Ex officio, voting    
Goldstein, Gabriella European Center Director Ex officio, voting    
Palou, Pedro Romance Languages Chair of Romance Languages Ex officio, voting    



The function of the Subcommittee on the European Center at Talloires (Talloires Committee), a subcommittee of the Summer Session Committee, is to oversee all credit programs offered at the Talloires program, recommend and approve topics and faculty members for academic programs and candidates for the position of academic director. The committee also advises the director of the European Center on issues related to the center's maintenance and direction and participates in long-range planning.

The subcommittee consists of eight A&S&E faculty members broadly representative of disciplines and faculty interests in Talloires; ex officio members with vote include: the director of the International Relations Program or designee; the chair of the Department of Romance Languages or designee; a member of the Summer Session Committee; and the director of the European Center. The dean of the Division of Undergraduate and Graduate Students, or designee, and the associate dean of Office of Programs Abroad are ex officio members without vote. All full-time faculty members are eligible to serve on this committee. Members are appointed to a five-year term.

Committee members attend one two-hour meeting each term and engage in e-mail correspondence to review course proposals and to discuss the development of the center, recruitment of faculty for summer teaching, and the schedule of credit programs offered at Talloires. The committee meets a mid-October deadline for review of faculty course proposals for the following summer term. This committee is appropriate for tenure-track faculty members.


Information will be posted as it becomes available.

Visit the Summer Session Committee page.


Visit Arts, Sciences and Engineering Bylaws for more information regarding this committee's bylaws.