Tufts University | School of Arts and Sciences | School of Engineering | Graduate School of Arts and Sciences | Find People |


Diversity Fund Committee

Committee of the Faculty of Arts, Sciences and Engineering

MEMBERSHIP: 2018-2019

Term: One (1) year

Name and Link to
Directory Listing

Department Title Term Role Note
Jalal, Ayesha History Professor 2017-2020  
Lowe, Carmen School of Arts and Sciences and School of Engineering
Dean of Undergraduate Studies 2018-2019 Designee for Dean of School of Arts and Sciences  
McWayne, Christine Child Study and Human Development Professor 2017-2020
Saigal, Anil Mechanical Engineering Professor 2017-2020    
Shamsuddin, Shomon Urban and Environmental Policy and Planning Assistant Professor 2018-2019     
Swan, Chris School of Engineering Associate Professor, Dean of Undergraduate Education 2018 Designee for Dean of the School of Engineering  
Yugawa, Linell Asian American Center Director 2016-2019 Designee for Dean of Student Affairs  
Sullivan, Erin School of Arts and Sciences & School of Engineering Secretary of the Faculty Ex officio, nonvoting
TBD TBD TBD   Designee for Dean of Student Affairs  


The Diversity Fund is intended to support proposals from faculty, staff, or faculty/staff collaborating with students that focus on issues related to social justice, diversity, and campus social climate that will enhance our campus community in lasting ways. In particular, the committee is interested in funding programming that brings together members of the Tufts AS&E community for cross-group dialogue and substantive interaction that might not otherwise occur. By "group" we refer to individuals of different demographics and social identities; departments, programs, centers, and organizations; and/or individuals with different roles on campus (e.g., students, faculty, and staff).

The committee consists of eight members. The membership shall include four faculty members appointed to the Equal Educational Opportunity Committee ("EEOC"). The EEOC members choose amongst themselves who will serve on the Diversity Fund Committee. The following administrators or their designees shall be members: the dean of the School of Arts and Sciences, the dean of the School of Engineering, and the dean of Undergraduate and Graduate Students or two designees. The committee shall elect its chairman at the last meeting of the spring semester and the secretary of the faculty shall serve as an ex officio, nonvoting member of the committee. This committee is open to all full-time voting-eligible faculty members, including professors of the practice, lecturers, and senior lecturers.

Committee members attend approximately two meetings per semester to consider proposals from the A&S&E faculty, staff and students.



Diversity Fund applications are accepted four times a year:

  • September 20, 2018 (for fall and spring events)
  • November 29, 2018 (for spring events)
  • January 31, 2019 (for spring, summer, and fall events)
  • May 23, 2019 (for summer and fall events)

The Diversity Fund usually does not fund requests for more than $5,000; awards in the $2,000 range or under are more typical.

The committee looks forward to receiving creative ideas that will enhance our campus community in lasting ways. If you have questions in anticipation of funding deadlines, please contact Erin Sullivan, Secretary of the Faculty for AS&E at asediversityfund@tufts.edu.

**Tips for submitting a successful application >

Information about diversity initiatives >


Information will be posted as it becomes available.