Tufts University | School of Arts and Sciences | School of Engineering | Graduate School of Arts and Sciences | Find People |


Campus Planning and Development Committee

Standing Bylaw Committee of the
Faculty of Arts, Sciences and Engineering

MEMBERSHIP: 2017-2018

Term: Five (5) years

Name and Link to
Directory Listing
Department Title Term Role Note
Hollander, Justin Urban & Environmental Policy and Planning Associate Professor 2013-2018 Co-Chair  
Gallagher, Hugh Physics and Astronomy Professor 2014-2019 Co-Chair  
De Laire Mulgrew, Anne Romance Studies Senior Lecturer 2016-2021    
Feldman, David Henry Child Study and Human Development Professor 2011-2021    
Fisher, Kathleen Computer Science Professor 2017-2022    
Messner, William Mechanical Engineering Professor 2015-2020    
Mulligan, John Drama and Dance Lecturer 2014-2019    
Scheck, Rebecca Chemistry Assistant Professor 2015-2020    
Ueda, Reed History Professor 2013-2018    
Kraus, Benya TCU Senate Undergraduate student representative 2017-2018    
Weil, Colter TCU Senate Undergraduate student representative 2017-2018    
Kasenberg, Dan Graduate Student Counsel Graduate student representative 2017-2018    
Glaser, James School of Arts and Sciences Dean   Ex officio, non voting  
Austin, Matthew Residential Life Associate Director of Residential Life   Ex officio, non voting  
McMahon, Mary Pat Student Affairs Dean   Ex officio, non voting  
Qu, Jianmin School of Engineering Dean Ex officio, non voting
Rubel, Barbara Community Relations Director   Ex officio, non voting  
Sahagian, Scott School of Arts and Sciences Executive Administrative Dean   Ex officio, non voting  
Sarazen, James School of Engineering Executive Associate Dean   Ex officio, non voting  
Stanley, Lois VP Operations Administration Director of Campus Planning   Ex officio, non voting  
Stein, Barbara Office of VP Operations Vice President   Ex officio, non voting  



The function of the Campus Planning and Development Committee is to advise the administration on matters concerning the physical character and development of the Medford/Somerville campus; to consider and offer response to all comprehensive campus plans and acquisitions and to the programming, planning, siting, and architectural character of new buildings, additions, and renovations; and to periodically review the physical development needs of the campus and to recommend facilities and priorities for capital investment. At the beginning of every semester, the Vice President of Operations will deliver a written summary of all upcoming planning and major development efforts on the Medford Campus to the Chair of CPDC and could request agenda items for the next CPDC meeting. CPDC members will consider those plans and development projects and then articulate for each a set of principles that reflect the concerns and aspirations of the AS&E faculty. CPDC will share those principles with the AS&E faculty and the administration through announcements at faculty meetings and the Office of the Secretary of the Faculty's website. It is the expectation of the CPDC that those principles will inform the administration's planning and development efforts.

The committee consists of nine or more members, of which two shall be drawn from full-time staff members, up to two undergraduate students designated by the TCU Senate, and one graduate student designated by the Graduate Student Council. This committee also includes the following ex officio members without voting privileges: the dean of the School of Arts and Sciences or designee, the dean of the School of Engineering or designee, the dean of student affairs, and the chief administrators responsible for planning, development, community relations, and plant and services. Members are appointed to a five-year term. This committee is open to all full-time voting-eligible faculty members, including professors of the practice, lecturers, and senior lecturers. This committee is appropriate for tenure-track faculty members.

Committee members attend typically meets two or three times a year. Meetings are typically 1.5 hours.


Information will be posted as it becomes available.


Visit Arts, Sciences and Engineering Bylaws for more information regarding this committee's bylaws.