Tufts University | School of Arts and Sciences | School of Engineering | Graduate School of Arts and Sciences | Find People |


Faculty Research Support Advisory Committee

Standing Bylaw Committee of the
Faculty of Arts, Sciences and Engineering

MEMBERSHIP: 2017-2018

Term: Five (5) years

Name and Link to
Directory Listing
Department Title Term Role Note
Robbat, Al Chemistry Associate Professor 2014-2019 Chair  
Edelman, Lee English Professor 2017-2022    
Freudenreich, Catherine Biology Professor 2010-2020    
Khardon, Roni Computer Science Professor 2015-2020    
Ruane, Kim Mathematics Professor 2016-2021    
Tickle-Degnen, Linda Occupational Therapy Professor 2016-2021    
Vandervelde, Thomas E Electrical & Computer Engineering Associate Professor 2016-2021    
Yi, Hyunmin  Chemical Engineering Associate Professor 2013-2019    
Whalen, Jenna Graduate Student Council Graduate student representative 2017-2018    
TBD Graduate Student Council Graduate student representative 2017-2018    
Cook, Bob Graduate School of Arts and Sciences Dean   Ex officio, voting  
Johnson, Eric University Advancement VP of University Advancement   Ex officio, voting  
Omenetto, Fiorenzo School of Engineering Associate Dean of Research   Ex officio, nonvoting  
Meydani, Simin Office of the Provost Vice Provost for Research   Ex officio, nonvoting  
TBD Corporate and Foundation Relations Director   Ex officio, voting  



The function of the Faculty Research Support Advisory Committee is to systematically review the policies and conditions under which faculty scholarship and research are conducted and supported at the university; and shall make recommendations thereon to individuals, to the Faculty of Arts, Sciences and Engineering, or to the appropriate administrative officer. The committee shall have authority to investigate and make recommendations upon the policies for provision and utilization of research facilities, including computer services; upon relevant accounting, personnel and purchasing services; upon contract and grant administration practices including pre- and post-award support; upon relevant safety, health, patent, consulting, and publication policies; and upon such other matters relating to the maintenance of a vigorous and productive climate of scholarly research for faculty and students as may be brought to its attention. School and central administrators who receive recommendations from the FRS committee are responsible for responding in a timely manner.

The Faculty Research Support Advisory Committee consists of five faculty members of the School of Arts and Sciences and three faculty members of the School of Engineering, together with the following ex-officio members or their designees: the Dean of Arts and Sciences; the Dean of the School of Engineering; the Vice Provost (for Research); and the Vice President of Operations. School administrators have a reporting responsibility to the committee and must attend committee meetings when requested. Also, two graduate student representatives designated by the Graduate Student Council, one from the School of Arts and Sciences and one from the School of Engineering, will serve on the committee. There are no eligibility restrictions based on rank, but experience conducting research at Tufts is advantageous. Committee members are appointed to a five-year term.

Committee members attend meetings for one to two hours several times each semester. Responsibilities include identifying topics for the committee to address and meeting with appropriate administrators to identify ways to address those concerns. This committee is open to all full-time voting-eligible faculty members, including professors of the practice, lecturers, and senior lecturers; however, there is a strong preference for faculty members active in research.


Information will be posted as it becomes available.


Visit Arts, Sciences and Engineering Bylaws for more information regarding this committee's bylaws.