Village of Talloires
The village of Talloires (pronounced “Tal-whar,” from "Tall’eur"
in Celtic, meaning “facing the moon”) preserves a heritage dating
back to 1018 when it became the site of a Benedictine priory. Today
Talloires continues to offer respite from the hustle and bustle of
city life. In addition to being a popular resort destination for
European vacationers, it is also a summertime center of intellectual
activity. The former priory (Le Prieure) is now home to Tufts
University’s European Center and its various academic programs and
The proximity of the French Alps provides opportunities for hikes or
leisurely walks, and Lake Annecy offers sailing, water-skiing,
windsurfing, swimming, or fishing. An 18-hole golf course and tennis
courts are just five minutes from the European Center. Boat tours of
the lake can be arranged for groups and are a wonderful way to enjoy
the scenery at sunset.
Talloires' reputation for gourmet cuisine is known throughout
Europe. Participants can choose from among fine restaurants and
sample the traditional local specialties or indulge in a truly
unforgettable dinner at the world famous Michelin-rated Auberge du
Père Bise (L’Auberge du Père Bise), or nearby Marc Veyrat. Several
of the restaurants have breathtaking lakefront views and are noted
for both their superb cuisine and exceptional service.