Tufts University  |  School of Arts and Sciences  |  Find People  | 


Department Highlights


Congratulations to Yannis Ioannides
At its plenary session earlier this month, the Academy of Athens elected Yannis Ioannides, the Max and Herta Neubauer Professor of Economics, to the honored position of corresponding member of Greek scholars active outside Greece. In awarding this honor - the highest the Academy gives to Greek scholars beyond the Greek borders - the Academy explicitly recognized Professor Ioannides' "wealth of research and writing in both macroeconomics and microeconomics." This includes four books and over 70 articles in peer-reviewed professional journals. The Academy also noted that throughout his university career, Professor Ioannides has continually contributed to policy debates concerning the Greek economy in both professional papers as well as the periodical and daily press of Greece, and has been an especially active participant in these matters since the outbreak of the economic crisis. On behalf of everyone in the Tufts Economics Department, Congratulations to Yanni for this great honor, as well as for the recognition that it gives to his highly-valued professional and public service.
[posted 06/2017]

Class of 2017
Congratulations to the Economics graduates of 2017! You have our best wishes for your future as well as our request that you keep in touch and let us know what you're doing!
And special thanks to Debra Knox, Linda Casey, and Marcus Weir for putting together such a super Commencement Weekend. Their excellent efforts made both the Saturday Reception and Sunday's actual Graduation Ceremony incredibly successful. Of course, they also arranged for our excellent weather as well. Many, many thanks to all three.
[posted 05/2017]

New program: Ph.D. in Economics and Public Policy
The Economics Department announces the initiation of a new Ph.D. in Economics and Public Policy. The program will be administered jointly by the Economics Department and the Fletcher School, and will include two years of classwork before commencement of independent research leading towards the completion of a thesis. We are now accepting applications to the program for the inaugural class that will enter the program next Fall. Students already enrolled in master's programs in either the Economics Department or the Fletcher School may apply for entry with advanced standing. Further details may be found on our Economics website or Tufts' Graduate School website.
[posted 11/2016]

Daniel Ounjian Field
The newest, super-modern athletic field at Tufts has been named for former long-time Economics Chair and even longer-time member of the Tufts faculty, Dan Ounjian, who died in 1994. The new field, located beyond Huskins Field and next to Bello Field in the area across College Avenue from Cousins Gymnasium, features an Astroturf surface, the fast-playing, non-directional surface which is the gold standard for field hockey and is also equipped with a watering system which will improve the speed of play, the roll of the ball, and player safety. Deepest thanks to Dough Rachlin, Economics '85, who spearheaded the fundraising effort and the many alums he encouraged to honor Professor Ounjian in this way.
[posted 09/2016]

New Faces
The Economics Department is happy to announce that Federico Espósito, of Yale, will be joining the Department in September, 2016. Federico specializes in the study of international trade and finance. He will teach at both the undergraduate and graduate levels. We are very happy to welcome Professor Espósito to Tufts Economics. Read more about Professor Espósito.
[posted 07/2016]

New Titles
The Economics Department is also happy to announce that both David Dapice and George Norman have been granted Emeriti status by the Trustees of Tufts College, following unanimous votes by the Economics senior faculty. Both announced their retirement last year with George finishing his Tufts career in December, 2015 and David finishing this past May. Both gave many years of service throughout their distinguished careers in policy-making and economic scholarship. Both were also thoroughly devoted to teaching and the welfare of their students. We congratulate both David and George on their Emeriti status. Read a brief, whimsical salute to David Dapice and George Norman.
[posted 07/2016]

New Record
In an unprecedented double, Professor Jeff Zabel won this year's Economics Department awards for both undergraduate and graduate teaching. The undergraduate award is chosen by the Economics Society based on feedback from undergraduate majors. The graduate award is chosen by a special committee of graduate students, again with feedback from all doing graduate work in economics. Each award is presented at an end-of-year luncheon and the presentations made clear how deeply all students appreciated the commitment and skill that Professor Zabel brings to all his teaching and mentoring. The Economics faculty is happy to congratulate Professor Zabel for this first (but perhaps not the last) teaching double of his career.
[posted 07/2016]