Department of Economics  

Chinese   French   German   Italian   Portuguese   Spanish  
Click on a flag for Google language translation. More Google language options are available once you make a selection. Please note: there may be inaccuracies in the translation.
Welcome to the Department of Economics at Tufts University! Please explore our website and learn more about our department's people, programs (undergraduate and graduate), and activities.

New Faculty:
We are very happy to announce that two new faculty members are joining our department in the Fall of 2014.

Kyle EmerickKyle Emerick joins us as a new Ph.D. from Berkeley. He works on development issues with special emphasis on agriculture, including such topics as the response of agriculture to climate change, the diffusion of technologies such as flood-tolerant rice, and the impact of land reform on migration into and out of agricultural activities. Kyle’s work has natural ties to research at both the Fletcher School of Law & Diplomacy and the Friedman School of Nutrition, and we are very happy that faculty from both schools participated actively in this recruitment effort. Kyle will complete his Ph.D. from the University of California at Berkeley in June, 2014.

Melissa McInerneyMelissa McInerney joins us as a new Associate Professor from William & Mary, where she has been teaching for the past six years. Melissa has published many papers, investigating the often closely related issues of labor market behavior and health care. Her papers have appeared in the Journal of Health Economics; the Journal of Public Economics; the Journal of Human Resources; and the Journal of Urban Economics, among other outlets. Melissa earned her Ph.D. at the University of Maryland in June, 2008. She also has a Master of Public Policy degree from Georgetown University.

We are also very pleased to welcome back former Department Chair, Lynne Pepall who served as Dean of the Graduate School of Arts & Sciences, from 2007 through 2013, and who is spending this year as a visiting economist at the Antitrust Division of the Justice Department. Professor Pepall is a co-author of one of the best-selling undergraduate texts in industrial organization (along with Professors George Norman and Dan Richards), and is currently engaged in research on patent policy, consumer privacy, and the economic analysis of MOOCs.

Faculty returning from leave in 2014-15 include Professors Ed Kutsoati (Spring), Kelsey Jack, and Jeff Zabel.

Department Highlights:

Professor Ioannides recognized for lifetime scholarly achievements
Yannis Ioannides was recognized, jointly with Professor Costas Azariadis, Washington University at St. Louis, for their lifetime scholarly achievements and for their contributions to improving the quality of scholarship among Greek economists, at an event that took place on July 14, 2014, under the auspices of the 2014 Conference on Research on Economic Theory and Econometrics (C.R.E.T.E. 2014). Ioannides has been a founding member of C.R.E.T.E. and member of its organizing and program committee since its inception in 2002. John Geanakoplos (Yale), Christopher Pissarides (LSE), Enrico Spolaore (Tufts), and Chris Waller (Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis), spoke during the session.

Commencement Message from the Chair
Once again, the Economics Department commencement was one of the largest individual discipline ceremonies at this year's graduation event. Over 160 undergraduates and 20 graduate students received their degrees on a beautiful Sunday afternoon with hundreds of family members and friends cheering them on. The annual pre-commencement reception for students and their relatives held at Braker Hall the day before was also a great success. Both of these events were organized and directed by our fantastic staff—Debra Knox, Linda Casey, and Caroline Kalgeropoulos. I know faculty and students join me in thanking our staff for their dedicated and efficient service in these efforts and, indeed, for their superb work over the entire academic year! They are the best and we are very grateful. Way to Go Team!

Professor Garman wins Inaugural Graduate Economics Teaching Award
The Economics graduate students recently presented the first-ever graduate economics teaching award to Professor David Garman. Professor Garman (who has previously won the undergraduate Economics Professor of the Year Award) was recognized by all the first- and second-year graduate students for the clarity of his presentation in the very challenging graduate econometrics and statistics classes and for the concern he consistently showed for students’ learning. This year marks the first time the award has been presented. The graduate students, along with faculty and staff, join in congratulating Professor Garman on this achievement, and look forward to future winners of this award meeting the high standards of teaching excellence that he has set. Congratulations Professor Garman!

Professor Downes wins Economics Professor of the Year Award
The Economics Society recently presented the 2014 Professor of the Year award to Professor
Tom Downes. This award is bestowed to an Economics Department faculty member by the Economics Society annually. The students, along with faculty and staff, join in congratulating Professor Downes for his exceptional teaching and dedication to his students. Congratulations Professor Downes!

New Finance Minor!
On March 12, the Arts & Sciences Faculty voted in favor of a proposal from the Economics Department to create a new, interdisciplinary Minor in Finance. The new minor includes core courses in Economics, Mathematics, and Philosophy as well as several electives related to the study of financial economics and financial markets. The advisor for the minor is Professor of the Practice, Chris Manos. Read the formal description here. We are very excited to offer this curriculum to Tufts students.

Professor Gilbert Metcalf elected to AERE Board of Directors
Gilbert E. Metcalf, professor of economics, was elected to the Board of Directors of the Association of Environmental and Resource Economists (AERE). Founded in 1979, AERE is the international professional association for economists working on the environment and natural resources. In addition to publishing the top field journals in environmental and resource economics, AERE sponsors sessions at the annual meetings of the major economics meetings and co-sponsors the quadrennial World Congress of Environmental and Resource Economics.

Congratulations to Tufts econ grad Eugene Fama on his Nobel Prize!
Tufts alum and econ major, Eugene Fama, was one of three economists to share this year's Nobel Prize in Economics. Professor Fama was a pioneer in empirical studies of finance and his work is fundamental to the efficient markets hypothesis as well as to precise modern models of asset prices. We are happy to say that it started all here at Tufts economics where Fama was an undergraduate major and 1960 alumnus. His work and its origins from his years at Tufts are described more fully on the Tufts Now section of the main university web page. However, as Professor Fama's intellectual home, the faculty, staff, and the students of the Tufts Economics Department wish to offer our own warmest congratulations to Professor and fellow Jumbo, Eugene Fama for this well-deserved award!

In the Media:

  Arts & Sciences  |  Tufts University  |  Admissions  |  Online Directory  |  Campus Map & Directions

© 2014 Department of Economics, Tufts University. All rights reserved.
Site designed and maintained by Tufts Technology Services (TTS).