Wednesday, November 2, 2005

Men's Coach Ethan Barron named Co-Coach of the Year

MEDFORD Six members of the Tufts University men's and women's cross country teams earned spots on the All-New England Small College Athletic Conference (NESCAC) teams named on Monday. The teams are selected based on the individual finishes at the NESCAC championship races, which were held at Wesleyan University on Saturday (Oct. 29).

Three members of the Tufts men's team that won its third consecutive conference title were named to the team. Senior co-captain Matt Lacey (Amherst, MA/Amherst) and junior Josh Kennedy (Guilford, CT/Hopkins School) earned First Team recognitions based on their fourth place (25:28.2) and seventh place (25:42.1) finishes, respectively. Senior co-captain Matt Fortin (Raymond, ME/North Yarmouth Academy) was on the Second Team after finishing eighth with a 26:07.5 time.

In addition, men's first-year coach Ethan Barron was named NESCAC's Co-Coach of the Year along with Wesleyan University's John Crooke. Barron was hired on an interim basis following the sudden retirement of longtime Jumbo mentor Connie Putnam in July. With the help of his senior runners, Barron kept the team on track and guided the Jumbos to their "three-peat" at NESCACs. The Jumbos edged Williams, 58-62, for the title.

For Kennedy, the honor marked the third consecutive season that he was selected to the First Team. He was also the NESCAC Rookie of the Year in 2003. Lacey was also a First Team selection last year as both runners matched their finishes from a year ago. With Barron sharing the coaching honor, Tufts has had at least a share of it in each of the last three seasons.

On the women's side, sophomore Catherine Beck (Brookline, NH/Hollis-Brookline) and senior Becca Ades (Shelburne, VT/Champlain Valley Union) each earned Second Team honors. Beck finished just outside the top 10 with a time of 18:32.4 for 11th place. Ades, coming back from injury, ran 18:42.3 for 13th place.

Head Coach Kristen Morwick's Jumbos took fourth place in the highly competitive race, which featured five teams ranked in the national top 10.